Databases
EBSCO Databases
Provided Through the Office of the Secretary of State/Illinois State Library
These databases may be accessed within the library building or remotely. Please contact the library at 815-589-2045, email fulpublib@mchsi.com, or stop by for remote login information. Remote users must have a valid Schmaling Memorial Public Library card in good standing.
Below, in alphabetical order, you'll find a complete linked list of databases with descriptions:
- Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for subjects such as adult education, higher education, public health, and more.
- From the National Agricultural Library. Contains citations about all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
- Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.
- Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.
- More than 390,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
The Biography Reference eBook Collection
- A companion to the Biography Reference Source database, this encompasses a rich selection of biographic titles, covering popular and important figures in business, film, history, music, politics, sports and more.
- Designed for public libraries, thousands of books cover core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
- This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
EBSCO eBooks Business Subscription Collection
- Equip students and faculty with access to thousands of e-books dedicated to the study of business.
EBSCO eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection
- Build strong literacy skills in students from pre-K to 8th grade by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles.
EBSCO eBooks High School Subscription Collection
- Give students, educators, and administrators on-the-go access to popular e-books. This robust collection includes a selection of classic literary works, important historical documents, and general reference materials.
EBSCO eBooks K-5 Subscription Collection
- This e-book collection supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.
EBSCO eBooks 6-8 Subscription Collection
- This e-book collection supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools.
EBSCO eBooks Public Library Subscription Collection
- Access to high-quality e-books covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies, and cooking. This general reference e-book collection features titles for both adults and juveniles.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
- Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
- This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
EBSCO eBooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies Subscription Collection
- This groundbreaking collection includes over 6,000 high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
- Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer reviewed.
- Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, this database contains full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
History Reference eBook Subscription
- A companion to the History Reference Source database, this contains a rich selection of historical titles, covering global topics from the ancient world through today.
- Subject areas include arts & crafts; games & electronics; models; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & paper craft.
- Includes maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, home & garden, etc. Includes more than 130 reference books.
LearningExpress Computer Skills Center
- Help patrons and students learn the fundamentals of computers, the internet and popular software applications a user-friendly e-learning platform that contains more than 100 selfpaced video tutorials.
LearningExpress Job and Career Accelerator Center
- Gives job seekers the tools they need to explore careers, find open positions, apply for jobs, and get hired. Find information on careers, interest assessments to match individuals with ideal career paths, and tools to create professional resumes and cover letters.
LearningExpress Library Complete
- Supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, explore careers, join the military, study for occupational certification tests, become a U.S. citizen and much more. Contains practice tests, interactive tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards.
LearningExpress PrepSTEP Academic
- Resources designed to support success in higher education and preparation for today’s workforce. PrepSTEP Academic is packed with tutorials, practice tests, e-books and highstakes test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness.
LearningExpress PrepSTEP High School
- Provides online access to a unique and extensive collection of academic, college preparation and career-related tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books, and flashcards. It includes tools for academic skill-building, college and career exploration, college admissions test preparation, military exploration and preparation, workplace skills development and more.
- Thousands of legal forms by topic including Bankruptcy, Divorce, Name Changes, Wills & Estate Planning and more. Most of the full text legal reference books provided through NOLO.
- A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, businesspeople, law librarians, students, and paralegals.
- LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers, and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Library & Information Science Source
- Journals and periodicals that help librarians and researchers keep pace with the latest trends in the field.
- Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.
Literary Reference eBook Subscription
- Contains a broad range of literary-related subjects with selections including literary criticism, study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula, and Frankenstein.
- Designed for high school libraries and oƯers coverage of popular high school magazines and reference books. Wide range of subjects oƯered including art, history, sports, and music. Over 1,000,000 photos, maps, and flags. Full text magazines include Discover, US News & World Report, Scientific American, and more.
MAS Reference eBook Subscription
- This encompasses a rich selection of titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects, including biography, careers, language arts, literature, government, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.
- Contains reference books covering a broad range of general reference subjects, including biography, history, architecture, literature, cooking, health and wellness, science, self-help, religion, current events, sports, travel and more.
- Magazines and reference books for middle school students. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Subjects include history, current events, science, sports, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.
Middle Search Reference eBook Subscription
- A broad range of general reference subject coverage for middle school students, with topics including social studies, math, history, language arts, technology, geography, culture, and science.
- Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. OƯers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Newspapers include St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Washington Post, USA Today, and more.
- Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.
- Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards.
Points of View Reference Source
- Presents multiple sides of over 500 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
- For elementary school libraries. Content from children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and images. Students can learn about animals, musicians, fitness, space exploration, and much more.
Primary Search Reference eBook Subscription
- A range of general reference subject coverage for primary school students, with topics like social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math, and science.
Professional Development Collection
- Specialized information for librarians, teachers, and education researchers.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.
- Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces from 1990. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
- Hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and philosophy of language.
- Provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Science Reference eBook Subscription
- This encompasses a rich selection of titles covering science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
- Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.
- Repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.). Also includes guides on extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Coverage includes lawn mowers, motorcycles, tractors, and snowmobiles. Information on more than 25 years of engine models, with new and updated content added regularly.